Mentors

Betsy Cornwell

Betsy Cornwell

Author

Betsy Cornwell is a New York times bestselling author of literary YA fantasy novels. She wrote her debut novel Tides as a student at Smith College and received her MFA from the University of Notre Dame in 2012. Tides received a place in the Bank Street Best Children’s Books of the Year and a Bisexual Book Awards nomination. Betsy’s other novels include Mechanica, Venturess, The Forest Queen, and the forthcoming The Circus Rose, a queer retelling of “Snow White and Rose Red” in prose and verse. Mechanica was one of Amazon’s best young adult novels of 2015, a USA Today Must-Read Romance, a YALSA Teens’ Top Ten nominee, and a New York Times bestseller.

Betsy grew up in New Hampshire and now lives in Ireland. She is the story editor at Parabola, and she teaches creative writing at the National University of Ireland and works as a private writing mentor and consultant.

Betsy is Anjelika Vayas’ mentor.

  • Patricia Cornwell

    Tides

    TIDES: A modern retelling of selkie legends that dives deep into the fluid nature of love and family. “The narrative shimmers and haunts.” Booklist http://www.betsycornwell.com/books/tides/
  • Patricia Cornwell

    MECHANICA

    MECHANICA: A steampunk retelling of Cinderella starring an engineer heroine who invents her own happily-ever-after. ☆ “A smart, refreshing alternative to stale genre tropes.” Kirkus, starred review http://www.betsycornwell.com/books/mechanica/
  • Patricia Cornwell

    VENTURESS

    VENTURESS: An action-packed companion to the New York Times bestseller Mechanica perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer and Sarah J. Maas. “Hits a sweet spot for fairy tale and steampunk lovers alike.” Booklist http://www.betsycornwell.com/books/venturess/
  • the forest queen

    THE FOREST QUEEN

    THE FOREST QUEEN: ☆ “An inspiring, female-centric retelling of the classic medieval ballad of Robin Hood.” – Shelf Awareness, starred review ☆ “A fiercely female, feminist take on the traditional legend.” – Booklist, starred review http://www.betsycornwell.com/books/the-forest-queen/

Mentors